Tara Nimry, ASW

(she/her/hers)

Associate Therapist

ASW #93777

Welcome! My name is Tara Nimry, and I am an associate clinical social worker (ASW) working under the supervision of Katelin Buchanan, LPCC. I am a Pacific Islander, cisgender female and mother of 3 children. I have over 15 years experience working with clients of all ages with a variety of challenges and struggles. My educational background, professional and personal experiences have allowed me to empower clients to navigate life transitions. I have experience in perinatal medical social work supporting individuals and couples through fertility challenges, pregnancy loss, traumatic birth experiences, NICU admissions, and perinatal mood and anxiety disorders.

My passion for this field stems from being a mother myself as well as a surrogate in the past. I understand first-hand that the path to motherhood can often be unexpected and challenging. Oftentimes we feel alone in these struggles but I am here to let you know that you are not alone and this is not uncommon. You deserve support and I can help. I will assist you in reaching your goals utilizing a variety of therapeutic perspectives such as strengths based, solution focused and cognitive behavioral techniques. I genuinely feel privileged to work alongside women providing an authentic approach with empathy and compassion. My journey has brought me to understand that you are the expert in your own life. I am here to provide a non-judgmental and safe space to explore yourself, guide you in your healing, and ultimately find your balance again.

I was born and raised in beautiful San Diego. I spent a short stint of time in Missouri where I obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology at Missouri State University. I hold a MSW from California State University San Marcos and I am currently working toward certification in Perinatal Mental Health. In my free time, I love to travel and have visited over 20 countries creating relationships and experiences with people from all walks of life. I love spending time with my husband of 20 years, 3 children and 3 dogs. My self care routine consists of hiking, going to the beach and spending time with my family and friends. I look forward to meeting you soon!